Skip to content

2010 PAGE Awards = One small step for this writer…

October 18, 2010

After months of waiting, the winners for the 2010 PAGE International Screenwriting Awards were announced last Friday, October 15th.  And…my script, Faculty & Staff, won second place in the sitcom pilot category! I entered the script in two other contests with no success, so I’m glad to see that at least a few people didn’t hate it.  The script isn’t perfect by any means, and it’s probably not the most marketable premise, but I was happy with the way it turned out and I think it’s a decent writing sample.  At the very least, I think it’s memorable and somewhat unique…and maybe a bit odd.  If you’re curious to know what a second place sitcom pilot looks like, we can swap scripts and you can find out.

The logline for Faculty & Staff is…

During Cameron’s first day as a dean’s assistant, she must weather the stress of two bosses, the danger of the “tiger-kittens,” and the advances of her ex-husband, all while aiding in the completion of an orgasmic research experiment.

The PAGE awards is more known for opening doors for the feature script winners than it is for the TV pilot writers, so I’m not expecting my email inbox to explode with requests.  My philosophy with writing contests has always been to never expect more than what’s offered in terms of tangible prizes.  It’s unrealistic to believe that solely winning a contest will jump start someone’s career (although it does happen) and I mainly view this contest win as a boost to my self confidence (“Hey, maybe I don’t suck”).   Overall, I have been very pleased with how the contest was organized and how often Jennifer Berg and Zoe Simmons kept us contestants updated with the status of the contest.  I know Scriptapalooza is known as one of the better TV script contests, but I’m hoping PAGE will eventually gain that notoriety.  Also, I’m happy that their was a separate category for sitcom pilots.  Combining sitcoms and dramas doesn’t really make sense (Scriptapalooza would disagree with me)…30 Rock and Modern Family are great, but would anyone argue that they’re better than or comparable to Breaking Bad?  Doubtful.

The cool part (other than the $500) is that the winners receive subscriptions to InkTipSellAScriptTVWritersVault.com and TVFilmRights.com.  Those are all services that I have always been curious as to their actual benefits, but given my skepticism, I’ve never actually had any desire to pay for any of them.  So, over the next few months, I’ll provide reviews of each service and let everyone know which ones are worth the money and which ones are worth waiting until you win a membership through a contest.  (If anyone out there has used or currently is using one of these services, feel free to post a comment and everyone know what your experience has been.)

The best part about winning second place?  There’s still room for improvement!

7 Comments leave one →
  1. October 18, 2010 10:09 pm

    Congrats once more!

    Speaking of Breaking Bad, I was just the other week at a Q&A with Vince Gilligan and he did say that contests are a great way to start. He himself got his career started after he won the Virginia Governor’s Screenwriting Award.
    Regardless of this though, I say any win is a good win.

    I’m also very curious to see your take on the various subscriptions you won (same boat as you in terms of skepticism).

  2. October 19, 2010 1:22 pm

    @Alex – Thanks! Good little tidbit about Vince Gilligan…nice to know there’s an awesome TV writer out there who’s representing my home state of Virginia. I wonder if he’s a Redskins fan…

  3. October 27, 2010 7:58 pm

    congratulations! that’s great news. i think you should definitely start querying agents and managers and mention this achievement. i got some people to read my stuff when i told them i was a finalist in last year’s fellowship, so i know it can work. good luck!

    • October 28, 2010 10:44 am

      @kiyong Thanks! I’ll definitely follow any advice you have (to everyone else out there, he’s one of the 2010 Nickelodeon fellows…so, yeah he knows what he’s talking about). Good luck at Nickelodeon!

  4. November 13, 2010 3:31 pm

    Hey Evan…congrats!

  5. February 2, 2011 8:36 pm

    That’s fantastic, Evan, and very encouraging to an aspiring tv sitcom writer. Congratulations, and all the best with your writing endeavors.

Leave a Reply

