Skip to content

Happy 1st Birthday…Parks and Recreation Scripts…and some other miscellaneous stuff

May 19, 2011

Cake by @tinacipara

Well, despite the overwhelming odds against it, I have somehow managed to continuously update this blog for a whole year.  I didn’t quite make my unspoken goal of a post every other week, but I think I did okay considering I’m a much better procrastinator than I am a writer.  Either way, it’s been a year since my first post (well, a year + a few days… but you already know I’m a procrastinator).

I know a few people might be curious about the benefits of starting a blog; especially in an industry that is already highly saturated with online content, experts, and pitchmen.  It’s hard to not run into a screenwriting blog or website. And,hell, my inbox is full of infomercial-esque  emails about how my screenplay is missing [insert something that every screenplay needs] and it can be fixed by [insert expert’s name] for only a few [insert hundreds of dollars ].  With so much crap already out there, why on earth would someone want to add to that mess?

I started the blog because  I didn’t have any friends that were writing screenplays and the few that were familiar with screenwriting weren’t interested in writing sitcoms.  Now, I could move to NYC, Chicago, or LA and be instantly surrounded by like-minded folk, but I’m too much of a wuss to take that risk (and I’ll probably never “make it” because of that fact, but that’s okay, because at least I know it…and knowing is half the battle.)  G.I. Joe!  Sorry, couldn’t squeeze that last part into the parenthesis…  Anyway, as far as a tool for connecting with other people, I’d have to say that the blog (when combined with Twitter – shout out to #scriptchat and #tvwriterchat!) was a success.  Through swapping scripts and Twitter stalking, I’ve “met” many more sitcom writers than I knew a year ago and I’ve even gained three new writing partners.

So, thanks to everyone out there who reads this blog and especially those of you who have taken the time to reach out to me!   Hopefully I’ll keep updating this thing for at least another year.  And to anyone out there who may be on the fence out starting a blog…go for it.  It’s only been a year for me, but I feel like my writing persona has benefited tremendously.

There’s a few links and random thoughts that I wanted to share, but didn’t want to dedicate an entire post to each one, so I’ve added them to this post, below.

Parks and Recreation Scripts

Is it just me, or does Parks and Recreation continue to get awesomer each episode?  Hell, I don’t even care how “speccable” the show is, I just want to write an episode, so I can play with those characters.  What I wouldn’t give to be Ron Swanson’s mustache… Time permitting, a Parks & Rec Toolkit is forthcoming, but until then, check out Lee Thomson’s script library for actual scripts from the show:

Webseries

I’ve been working with some friends on two different webseries; one of which has been filmed and should be online soon and the other is filming soon enough.  I can say that when you actually produce the scripts you write, there are a lot of different things you should keep in mind (obvious things like budget, but also some non-obvious stuff).  I’ll eventually be posting info about each project and the lessons I learned during the process.  I will say that eight-weeks is a very short amount of time to have to write, shoot, and edit four 15-minute episodes…

The Way We Talk Podcasts

My local screenwriting friends recently started doing a podcast.  If you’re into nerdy stuff like movies, tv, video games, music, you should check them out:  http://twwtpodcast.com/  or on iTunes:  http://itunes.apple.com/us/podcast/the-way-we-talk/id420318510

They keep claiming that they’ll invite me on the show one day, but my phone has yet to ring…

Sitcom Spec Script Survey

Almost six months ago I posted a survey on this blog in an attempt to get feedback from other writers on what shows they have specced and which ones are on their list for 2011.  I’ve gotten almost 100 responses, so I’m going to start compiling the info in to some sort of statistical post that looks like a math project.  Hopefully, Surveymonkey will do all the hard work and I can just put up a link to the results.  Eitherway, the results are coming soon…

Channel 101

This is nothing new, but I just discovered it a few days ago…  I guess I was aware of it for a while, but I never actually went to the site and watched any videos until recently. Anyway, Channel 101 was created by Dan Harmon and Rob Schrab and is essentially an audience-driven monthly episodic comedy festival-type thing (the screenings are in L.A., but anyone can submit content).  You can visit the website for more details on the process, but the important thing to note is that there is some real cutting edge (I know, I hate using that saying, too) comedy being produced and displayed on the site.  Now, most of the top shows that end up getting voted into “Prime Time” are written, directed, and produced by famous or almost-famous comedians out in LA, but the cool part about the system is that almost anyone has a chance to get voted in.  If your pilot is good, then you have a chance.  If your pilot sucks, then you can try again later.  Anyone interested in comedy (especially comedy writing) should check it out.  “Sex Teenagers” is a favorite series of mine…

Oh for those of us on the east coast, there’s also a NY Channel 101.

11 Comments leave one →
  1. L Fan permalink
    May 19, 2011 4:34 pm

    Happy Birthday!!! Thanks for keeping up the great work with this blog. I have really enjoyed your toolkits, as I am currently working on specs for Parks and Rec, and Modern Family. Keep up the great work!

  2. May 19, 2011 5:03 pm

    congratulations evan! i think before your 2nd birthday, you should move out to LA. do it!

  3. May 19, 2011 7:10 pm

    Congrats man! Here’s to another successful year. … and, hopefully, to someday changing the word [eventual] to [actual] in your blog title. 🙂

  4. June 12, 2011 9:32 am

    Hard work to keep a blog going for a year – congrats!

    Have a present: Parks and Recreation 3×07 – Harvest Festival, and 3×10 – Soul Mates.

    http://www.zen134237.zen.co.uk/Parks_and_Recreation/

  5. June 12, 2011 12:00 pm

    @Lee – Thanks! And thank you for hosting the greatest online TV script library; all of us aspiring tv writers are very appreciative!

  6. Travis permalink
    July 2, 2011 8:07 am

    “Soon enough” starts soon. Like end of the month.

  7. sgold2009 permalink
    November 22, 2011 9:33 pm

    Hey — keep up the awesome work. Really enjoy visiting your site — I used one of your “tool kits” to write a script which has provided me with some success. Just I had the energy to keep up my site up like you do. Cheers! Stu

    • December 10, 2011 12:05 pm

      Thanks Stu! Your site was one of the first tv writing ones I found (before I started mine), so it means A lot that you’re finding mine useful. Hope the writing is going well!

Leave a Reply

